Western Australia

Western Australia

Meet our committee

  • Belinda Bastow FEIANZ

    Belinda Bastow FEIANZ

    Belinda Bastow FEIANZ President

    Belinda has been a member of the EIANZ since 2014. Belinda is Director at Integrate Sustainability with over 20 years’ experience in Environment, Safety and Sustainability in the Resource Sector. You may also know her from the Goldfields Environmental Management Group (GEMG) or the more recently formed Environmental Practitioners Network. Belinda hopes her passion and enthusiasm for networking and knowledge sharing drives a more inclusive EIANZ for all environmental practitioners.

    Read More
  • Rupert Duckworth MEIANZ

    Rupert Duckworth MEIANZ

    Rupert Duckworth MEIANZ Vice President (Students and Early Careers Champion)

    Rupert is an environmental engineer with post graduate qualifications in Environmental Science and Engineering Geology. He has 16 years’ experience as a Business Manager, Project Manager and Environmental Scientist, with a further 10 years as a Geotechnical Engineer responsible for the delivery of projects in the civil (infrastructure, residential, industrial), mining, oil and gas sectors. He has worked on and managed projects in numerous locations across Western Australia plus in South Africa, Botswana, Oman, UAE (Dubai, Abu Dhabi), Qatar, Chile and South East Asia.

    Read More
  • Mitt Ramgobin MEIANZ

    Mitt Ramgobin MEIANZ

    Mitt Ramgobin MEIANZ Treasurer

    Mitt is an environmental professional with 12+ years’ experience in environment and heritage management ranging from planning, design, impact assessment and approvals to construction and project close out. He has a Bachelor of Science and Post Graduate Certificate in Environmental Impact Assessment. Mitt is a strong proponent of using robust scientific data for decision making and sustainable development. Mitt joined the EIANZ in 2012 as a networking platform and the opportunity to collaborate with other environmental practitioners to influence policy, strategy and reconciliation.

    Read More
  • Tahlia Walsh MEIANZ CEnvP

    Tahlia Walsh MEIANZ CEnvP

    Tahlia Walsh MEIANZ CEnvP Secretary (Communications Champion)

    Tahlia is a Certified Environmental Practitioner with over twelve years’ experience in the resource industry. She has worked in the gold, nickel, iron ore, oil and gas industries and currently holds the title of Approvals Specialist for Rio Tinto Iron Ore. Tahlia has a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Science and has completed further study in workplace health and safety and auditing. Tahlia joined the EIANZ with the hope to contribute to the continuous improvement of environmental management and policy development.

    Read More
  • Diane Dowdell FEIANZ

    Diane Dowdell FEIANZ

    Diane Dowdell FEIANZ Committee Member (Events Champion)

    With twenty years’ experience as an environmental professional, across government and private industry, Diane has an MBA and Master of Environmental Science.  Diane has worked in environmental management, tourism planning and public policy in Australia, Europe, North and South America. She is currently undertaking a PhD in social performance in mining through the University of Queensland and works with a number of companies in ESG related guidance.

    Read More
  • Melissa Harrison MEIANZ

    Melissa Harrison MEIANZ

    Melissa Harrison MEIANZ Committee Member (Mentoring Champion)

    Melissa has over 19 years of professional management experience and has spent the last 14 years specialising in Commonwealth and Western Australian environmental and heritage impact assessments and approvals. She has worked as a consultant and on the client side across the utilities, aviation, construction, mining and civil infrastructure industries. Melissa also undertakes risk and compliance management and assessment and is a qualified lead auditor with desktop verification, due diligence and field inspection experience. Melissa currently leads a team of highly experienced officers undertaking approvals and compliance assessments and management within a State government agency.

    Read More
  • Vicki-lee Morrison

    Vicki-lee Morrison

    Vicki-lee Morrison Committee Member

    Vicki-Lee has been involved with the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand (EIANZ) since 2006 after graduating from Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) with a Bachelor of Social Science (Environment). Vicki-lee previously worked for URS consulting (Melbourne) as an Environmental Scientist working primarily in cleaner production; environmental auditing and improvement plans; and sustainability auditing, reporting and assurance. Vicki-lee has also previously worked for the City of Perth initially as Environment Officer and then as the Project Manager for the Sustainable Management Approaches at the City research project. Vicki-lee is currently studying Master of Environment (Economics and Policy) at Griffith University and preparing for a return to professional work in the sector after taking a career break to raise her family.

    Read More
  • Aneesh Toolse MEIANZ

    Aneesh Toolse MEIANZ

    Aneesh Toolse MEIANZ Committee Member

    Aneesh is an Environmental Engineer who completed a Master of Environmental Engineering at the University of Western Australia and has a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Edith Cowan University. Aneesh has been working across the mineral resources sector and has been involved with various major mining projects across Western Australia and is also an Exemplar Global Certified Lead Auditor and has been conducting independent audits across WA. Aneesh joined EIANZ with the aim to help new graduates and early environmental professionals grow, but to also assist in the development and review of environmental policy.

    Read More
  • Dale Newsome MEIANZ

    Dale Newsome MEIANZ Committee Member
    Read More
  • Sophie Monaco

    Sophie Monaco Committee Member
    Read More

Division news View All

Western Australia

The WA Division's membership is diverse and includes environmental practitioners from state and local government, utilities, academia, consultancies, mining and construction companies and law firms.

The focus of the WA Division is to disseminate information on emerging and important environmental issues for environmental practitioners.

In Western Australia, key issues include:

  • Clearing of native vegetation
  • Salinity
  • Sustainability
  • Phytophthora dieback
  • Environmental management systems
  • Environmental auditing
  • Air quality
  • Contaminated sites
  • Amendments to environmental legislation.

The WA Divisional Committee meets monthly to ensure a range of seminars, conferences and workshops involving scientists, policy-makers and practitioners  are offered to members and prospective members that address and debate these issues. Social events  provide a great opportunity to meet your peers.

For those considering a career in environmental science, the WA Division will arrange career's nights if there is a demand. At these events, a cross-section of environmental practitioners give presentations followed by an opportunity to mix and mingle over drinks and nibbles. Please contact the Division to express your interest.

View WA Division's strategic plan for more information on their priorities.

Contact Us

  • President
    Belinda Bastow FEIANZ

  • Contact
    +61 418 950 678

Email WA