EIANZ 2023 Merit Awards

Published 24 October 2023

The EIANZ Merit Awards recognise members and practitioners who have made an outstanding contribution to the Institute and the environment profession. This year’s awards were announced on Tuesday 17 October during the EIANZ 2023 Annual Conference in Auckland. 

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Simon Molesworth Award 

This is the highest award bestowed by the Institute recognising outstanding service to the Institute at an Institute level.

Awarded to: Neil Marshman FEIANZ


Mary Lou Morris Award

Recognising a member of the Institute who has provided outstanding service to the Institute at a Division or Chapter level.

Awarded to: Olivia Williamson FEIANZ 


Tor Hundloe Award

Recognising outstanding contributions to the environment profession by a young professional EIANZ member.

Awarded to: Laura Vermeersch 


Excellence in Environmental Practice Award

Recognising outstanding practice by an individual EIANZ member or non-member as an exemplar for all environmental practitioners.

Awarded to: Helen Blackie


Eric Anderson Award

Recognising the best article published in the Australasian Journal of Environmental Management (AJEM) during the year.

Awarded to: Professor Jan McDonald and Dr Manon Simon


CEnvP Scheme Service Award

Recognising voluntary contributions to the Certified Environmental Practitioner Scheme (decided by the Certification Board).

Awarded to: Graeme Proffitt CEnvP-SC and Julie Keane MEIANZ CEnvP-IA



Learn more about our award recipients here