The EIANZ Merit Awards recognise members and practitioners who have made an outstanding contribution to the Institute and the environment profession. This year's awards were presented at the EIANZ 2023 Annual Conference networking and awards night on Tuesday 17 October in Auckland. Congratulations and thank you to this year's winners!



NEIL MARSHMAN

SIMON MOLESWORTH AWARD

This is highest award bestowed by the Institute and recognises outstanding service to the Institute at an Institute level by an EIANZ member.

Dr Neil Marshman FEIANZ has been a valued member of EIANZ for several decades, serving selflessly throughout his years in the institute and diligently promoting excellence in environmental practice. Dr Marshman has raised the bar for exceptional service and delivery to the Institute and the environmental profession since taking on the role of Chair for both the Policy and Standards Committee, and the Climate Change Special Interest Section. During his tenure as chair of these two committees and with a clear vision, strong leadership, and dedication, Dr Marshman has led the delivery of an impressive catalogue of contributions to EIANZ policies and standards, EIANZ members' professional capability in the field of climate change, and government action on climate change.



OLIVIA WILLIAMSON

MARY LOU MORRIS AWARD

Olivia Williamson is an environmental professional who has championed the role of the SEQ Division in supporting the professional life of environmental practitioners. Through her past and present contributions to the SEQ Division, Olivia has demonstrated her commitment to supporting EIANZ's mission to connect and support environmental practitioners in their contribution to good environmental outcomes.

Olivia has ensured through her leadership that EIANZ members have access to high quality and contemporary professional development activities to support their professional practice across a range of formats and topics. As Vice-President of the SEQ Division she promotes excellence of environmental practice, knowledge sharing that enables EIANZ members and others to be credible, respected and valued environmental professionals in the organisations and communities in which they operate.





HELEN BLACKIE

EXCELLENCE IN ENVIRONMENTAL PRACTICE

Helen is a recognised leader as a practitioner in the field of conservation, biodiversity and biosecurity management, proven through her scientific expertise, her knowledge of animal behaviour, her vision of what is required to achieve NZ's predator free 2050 aspiration, her engagement at all levels with stakeholders, her ability to convey complex concepts to different audiences, and her knowledge of technology and its commercialisation. The outcomes of Helen's efforts are truly transformative and game changing for conservation practice both nationally and internationally. Helen is an exemplar of the 'trusted advisor' and at all times demonstrates excellence in environmental practice.



LAURA VERMEERSCH

TOR HUNDLOE AWARD

Laura is a motivated and enthusiastic early career environmental practitioner, specialising in environmental management and regenerative ecology. Laura is a member and strong advocate for EIANZ, and has been actively involved in events and the Tasmanian Division's mentoring program for the past 2 years.

Laura is a natural leader and excellent communicator, and the first to volunteer her time in contributing to projects and initiatives that result in better environmental outcomes. She makes outstanding contributions to the field of environmental management and conservation. Her passion and drive to protect and conserve the values of the natural environment are commendable.







DR. MANON SIMON

ERIC ANDERSON AWARD

(2023) Ethics requirements for environmental research, Australasian Journal of Environmental Management, 30:2, 148-169, DOI: 10.1080/14486563.2023.2217152 for the Eric Anderson Award for the best article published by the AJEM in 2022-2023.

Professor Jan McDonald and Dr Manon Simon review current Australian ethics requirements for environmental research, 25 years after the Australian Science, Technology and Engineering Council (ASEC) issued national guidelines. They argue that the guidelines remain relevant yet find that there has been little incorporation of these guidelines into national research ethics frameworks or institutional processes.

Only some environmental research, such as on the Great Barrier Reef, requires permits. The ASTEC guidelines are partially reflected in permitting requirements for research in protected area, but there are no explicit mechanisms for the ethical deliberation required. The authors encourage researchers and research organisations to consider how the deliberative procedures and substantive principles reflected in the ASTEC Guidelines might be followed in their work.



JULIE KEANE MEIANZ CENVP-IA

CENVP SERVICE AWARD

Julie has been a long contributor to the CEnvP Scheme through the SEAC for the Impact Assessment (IA) specialisation and Panels. Over the last 18 months she has continued to support the Scheme with the busiest periods through the uptake of the REAP Scheme (NSW accreditation requirement) where we saw an increase in IA applications - she sat on a significant number of panel interviews. She has also contributed a significant amount of time and knowledge to the IA SEAC. The role of a SEAC members ensure specialist input into the formation, operation, standards and continuous improvement of a specialist certification.



GRAEME PROFFITT CENVP-SC

CENVP SERVICE AWARD

Graeme has been involved in the CEnvP scheme since 2013, when he was part of founding the site contamination specialisation. He served on the SEAC for the Site Contamination specialisation from its inception in 2017 until this year, and across that time has spent untold hours working towards making the Scheme what it is today. This has included serving on interview and appeals panels, specific work on stie contamination QA/QC in NZ, and making sure the scheme was applicable across the region.