Congratulations to our 2018 Merit Award Winners

Published 9 Nov 2018

Winners and Presenters (L-R): Dr Sabah Abdulla,  Helen Ross FEIANZ,  Simon Molesworth AO QC FEIANZ CEnvP,  Zena Helman FEIANZ CEnvP,  Bryan Jenkins FEIANZ,  Vicki Brady MEIANZ CEnvP (for Scott Hanna MEIANZ CEnvP),  Alan Chenoweth FEIANZ CEnvP,  Isobel Oldfield MEIANZ,  Tor Hundloe AM FEIANZ,  Martin Juniper MEIANZ CEnvP

On Thursday 1 November, the winners of the 2018 Merit Awards were announced at our Gala Dinner in Sydney. We’d like to congratulate all the award recipients for their outstanding contribution to the Institute and to the broader environment profession.

Simon Molesworth Award - Zena Helman

This is the highest award bestowed by the Institute recognising outstanding service to the Institute at an institute level.

Zena is a highly experienced environmental practitioner, Fellow of the Institute, and a Certified Environmental Practitioner (CEnvP).

Zena has contributed to the success of EIANZ in many ways since joining as a founding member in 1987. She has led the delivery of many important initiatives, including implementing the initial financial and operational systems for the Institute. Zena played a key role in creating the Certified Environmental Practitioner Scheme and has more recently overseen the delivery of many position statements and policy submissions on behalf of the Institute.

In addition to providing outstanding service to the Institute, Zena is an outstanding environmental practitioner who mentors young practitioners and volunteers her skills in many significant ways.

Mary Lou Morris Award - Martin Juniper

This award recognises a member of the Institute who has provided outstanding service to the Institute at a Divisional or Chapter level.

Martin has been a very active member since joining EIANZ in 2000. He has served several roles in the Victorian Division and is currently the Victorian Division President.

In the past couple of years, Martin has overseen significant membership growth in his Division. This has been achieved through a range of successful professional events and his active promotion of membership engagement – especially among the Institute’s student and early career professionals.

Tor Hundloe Award – Isobel Oldfield

This award recognises outstanding contributions to the environment profession by a young professional (under 30 years old).

As a Students and Early Careers Coordinator, Isobel increased student membership and played a key role in developing a successful nation-wide mentoring program.

In addition to her work for the Institute, she contributes to the environment profession through her Master’s degree and as an ecological volunteer. She is also an ambassador for the STEM professions – going above and beyond to inspire the next generation of scientists and advocating for diversity and inclusion both within her workplace and the Institute.

Eric Anderson Award

This award is for the best article published in the Australasian Journal of Environmental Management during the year.

The Eric Anderson award is presented to the best article published in the Australasian Journal of Environmental Management during the year. This year’s award went to Clement A. Tisdell, Harriet J. Preece, Sabah Abdullah and Hawthorne L. Beyer for their paper titled ‘Strategies to conserve the koala: cost-effectiveness considerations’, which also appeared in Vol. 24, No. 3, pp. 302–318.

The Environmental Practitioner of the Year Award - Scott Hanna

This award recognises outstanding contributions to environmental practice by Certified Environmental Practitioners. It is presented by the Certified Environmental Practitioner Scheme.

Scott is a Certified Environmental Practitioner (Impact Assessment Specialist). Over four decades Scott has conducted environmental assessments in over 20 countries. He holds certifications in Canada and is a qualified auditor.

Scott has provided senior level environmental advisory services to all levels of government in Australia, as well as the World Bank, International Finance Corporation and other major multinational agencies. He has contributed his substantial environmental and social expertise to major projects in transportation, mining and energy sector projects.

Scott also actively engages in academia, as an Adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland and serves on advisory boards and committees.