SEQ Division congratulates Claire Gronow on Mary Lou Morris Award

Published 7 November 2014

The South East Queensland Division congratulates Claire Gronow on winning the Mary Lou Morris Award for service to a Division of the EIANZ. Claire received her award at the EIANZ Gala Dinner as part of the conference held in Hobart on 30 and 31 October 2014.

Claire has been an invaluable part of the South East Queensland Division for over 10 years, leading, encouraging, mentoring and empowering committee members to grow the Division.

Claire’s key achievements within the Division are:

  • Professional Development Chair from Aug 2004 – Aug 2006
  • President from Aug 2006 – Aug 2009
  • Chair – Professional Development and Strategy from Aug 2009 – Aug 2010
  • Presented at 7 SEQ events since 2005
  • Continues to convene regular forums for the SEQ Division
  • Continues to attend professional development sub committee meetings in SEQ.

During Claire's time with the Division, she has:

  • Run events for 1944 practitioners
  • Encouraged membership at each event
  • Lodged five major submissions to government
  • Chaired 33 meetings
  • Facilitated three strategic planning weekends for the Division
  • Managed the group to raise significant funds to continue the work of the Division
  • Regularly encouraged members to become involved in the Division and sourced many volunteers

Claire has now moved into a board role with the EIANZ. She prepares the Environmental Practitioner quarterly newsletter and is active in the STEPs program, providing sessions on Impact Assessment.

Congratulations, Claire.