# **MINUTES**

# EIANZ ACT Division Annual General Meeting



Thursday, 19 August 2021 Via Videoconference 12:30 – 1:15 pm

### 1. WELCOME

# a. Attendance and apologies

### Attendees:

Chris Murphy Emma Taylor Paul Keighley
Yashi Kotnala Kelly Lee Rob Speirs
Carolyn Cameron Su Wild-River Alex Garrett
Mark Butz Caitlin Adcock

**Proxies:** 

Dugal McFarlane

## **Apologies:**

Mark Williamson

# 2. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Motion: That the minutes of the EIANZ ACT Division Annual General Meeting held on 12 August 2020 be accepted as a true and correct record.

Moved: Emma Taylor Seconded: Chris Murphy

In Favour: All Against: Nil Carried

# 3. ACT PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Paul Keighley presented the President's Report. He expressed thanks to the ACT Division Committee members for their various contributions over the year. Paul noted that while the past 12 months had been somewhat quiet in terms of local events, there were some great highlights for the year:

- The Soils Short Course, run in collaboration with the University of Canberra.
- Publishing a statement ahead of the ACT election.
- Continuing the ACT Women in Environment Network, and mentoring.
- ACT Division members contributed strongly to Institute-wide activities, including:
  - o Input to the recent update to the Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct.
  - o Successful webinars, including on the EPBC Act.
  - o Special Interest Sections and the Strategic Environmental Assessment working group.
  - Advisory Council and Board Committees.

Paul also noted that ACT membership and certification numbers are down slightly:

- 76 members as at 30 June 2020 (compared with 84 and 97 for June 2019 and 2018 respectively)
- 26 CEnvPs as at 30 June 2020 (up from 25 for June 2019).

# 4. ACT TREASURER'S REPORT

Paul Keighley presented the financial report for the ACT Division for the 2020-21 financial year.

The ACT Division is in a very strong financial position. For the year, the activities for the Division generated a surplus of about \$2K. The Division has a substantial balance in the bank (approx. \$46K), largely due to the 2019 National Biodiversity Offsets Conference. This provides the Division with sufficient funds to confidently invest in future initiatives.

### 5. ELECTION OF THE ACT DIVISIONAL COMMITTEE

The following were elected to serve on the Committee for the coming year:

President:Chris MurphyVice-President:Emma TaylorTreasurer:Alex Garrett

Secretary: vacant

Members: Carolyn Cameron, Yashi Kotnala, Kelly Lee, Dugal McFarlane

Members thanked outgoing President Paul Keighley for his contributions to the Division in recent years. Paul thanked the Committee and members of the Division.

#### 6. GENERAL BUSINESS

The incoming committee sought the views of attendees on potential events and activities for the Division for the upcoming year.

**MEETING CLOSED 1:15pm AEDT**