

MERIT AWARD WINNERS

The EIANZ Merit Awards recognise members and practitioners who have made an outstanding contribution to the Institute and the environment profession. Congratulations and thank you to this year's winners!



PAUL KEIGHLEY FEIANZ

Simon Molesworth Award

This is the highest award bestowed by the Institute recognising outstanding service to the Institute at an Institute level.

of Australia and New Zealand

Paul has made an outstanding, consistent and diverse contribution to the Institute over several years. Something that stands Paul apart is his ability to be the 'glue' that brings things together. This is demonstrated through service to the Institute at a broad level across Australia and New Zealand as Secretary to the Board, SECC member, ACT President and numerous other examples over a long period.

Paul Keighley is a leader in the environment profession in Australia, having worked across public, private and not-for-profit sectors. He has led policies, projects and programs in several environmental fields, including impact assessment, climate change, ecology and bushfire, and industry sectors, such as energy, water, urban development and major infrastructure. Paul's contributions to the EIANZ are substantial, since joining as a student member in 2001. He was Secretary of the Institute for six years, driving a range of initiatives and has been a passionate supporter of professional development for students and early career practitioners across the environment sector. Paul is an energetic collaborator and inspiring team leader. He has led the delivery of projects that have become outstanding additions to the suite of professional development activities delivered by EIANZ.

2020 EIANZ MERIT AWARDS



JEFF RICHARDSON MEIANZ

Mary Lou Morris Award

This award recognises a member of the Institute who has provided outstanding service to the Institute at a Divisional or Chapter level.

Since becoming President of the NT Division in 2015, Jeff has revitalised the Division. The level of professional development, contribution to legislative reform and strong attendance at events is testament to Jeff's leadership. His dedication to the environmental services sector has given the EIANZ a strong voice and influence on both regulatory reforms and economic reform agendas in the Northern Territory.

Jeff has been an outstanding contributor, who has achieved transformation outcomes, in a challenging location, over several years. He has also provided exceptional service to the Institute and NT members through his dedicated work on the Advisory Council. Jeff is a valued as an inclusive leader who actively mentors students and younger members, and works to develop the profession and promote good practice.



ELLEN WORTHINGTON MEIANZ

Tor Hundloe Award

This award recognises outstanding contributions to the environment profession by a young professional (30 years and under).

Ellen Worthington is dedicated to helping infrastructure clients achieve better project and organisational outcomes from an environment and sustainability perspective, as her way to make a tangible positive impact on society.

During the past four years at Aurecon, Ellen has been a major driver for the growth of sustainability, climate and resilience expertise. Her relentless enthusiasm, networking capabilities and ability to empower others to go the extra mile has demonstrably enhanced the integration of sustainability into major infrastructure projects. Ellen is an active promoter of the Institute and sat on the EIANZ Victoria Division Committee for FY2019 and FY2020.

Eric Anderson Award

This award is for the best article published in the Australasian Journal of Environmental Management (AJEM) during the year.

Steve Hemming, Daryle Rigney, Simone Bignall, Shaun Berg & Grant Rigney (2019) Indigenous nation building for environmental futures: Murrundi flows through Ngarrindjeri country, Australasian Journal of Environmental Management, 26:3, 216-235, DOI: 10.1080/14486563.2019.1651227 for the Eric Anderson Award for the best article published by the AJEM in 2019-2020.

As the world grapples with the rights of many groups, one group emerging with substantial power is that of Aboriginal groups. However, the application of Aboriginal powers against the powers of other groups, such as landowners and business powers, is fraught with potential conflict. This paper provides a hopeful example of how Aboriginal rights over water can be successfully introduced into the large political arena without substantial conflict.

The power of this paper is that it shows a process that has been successfully implemented. Really thoughtful, powerful and informed. Shows how every step forward is seemingly countered by externally imposed steps back. Still a positive story though.



STEVE HEMMING



DARYLE RIGNEY







SHAUN BERG



GRANT RIGNEY

2020 EIANZ MERIT AWARDS



JEREMY HOGBEN CENVP AND SC



AMY VALENTINE CENVP AND SC



DANIELLE BOLTON

The CEnvP Scheme Service Award

The CEnvP Scheme Service Award celebrates the outstanding volunteer contribution an individual has made to the values, success, and development of the Certified Environmental Practitioner Scheme in the areas of initiative, positive leadership, reliability and/or technical values.

Jeremy is a well-respected leader in Western Australia. He has used his incredibly valuable time to contribute to the CEnvP program, by not only undertaking the review of numerous applications, but also assisting with knowledge sharing and promotion of values in line with that of the program.

Amy has been a member of the CEnvP Site Contamination Specialist Environmental Advisory Committee (SEAC) and an active member of the Site Contamination Certification Appeal Committee since 2017 and has contributed to the improvement of the Scheme's Appealing process and Site Contamination Specialist certification. As a member of the SC Appeal Committee she has consistently volunteered as a Panel Chair demonstrating high commitment and showing great work ethic, competency and leadership attributes. Her contribution as part of the SC SEAC and SC Appeal Committee has been invaluable and she has undoubtedly worked to uphold the impartiality and fairness values of the Scheme.

Special Achievement Award

For over 18 years, Danielle Bolton provided consistent and ongoing service both to the SEQ Division and the broader Institute. Importantly, this has been through an unwavering commitment to the Division's Executive Committee and the many members who have held positions within the Division as it has grown to be the largest body of members in Australia and New Zealand. During this time, the one constant has been Danielle. Danielle is always happy to go above and beyond the normal anticipated requirements of her role and brought a consistent level of passion and enthusiasm to all tasks. When faced with a challenge, Danielle tackled each one proactively and with the utmost professionalism. Over the years, Danielle has supported smaller divisions in running events and providing secretariat services when they need help. Further, Danielle has provided extensive support to Central Office in membership, financial matters, Annual Conference and other event organisation and support.