

Minutes

Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand

South East Queensland Division

DATE	Wednesday 20 August 2014	VENUE	Boardroom, Golder, 147 Coronation Drive, Milton	
	5.30pm			
MEETING TYPE Annual General Meeting		COPIES		
Chair	Vicki Low			
Recorder	Danielle Bolton			
PRESENT:		APOLOGIE	APOLOGIES	
As per sign in sheet			Minister Andrew Powell, Bill Haylock, Scott Hanna, Alan Chenoweth, Yvonne Winter, Rebecca Powlett, Shannah Brown	

TOPIC	ACTION	WHO/WHEN
Confirmation of 2012/13 AGM Minutes (2 Mins)	The minutes of the 2012/13 were approved.	Moved by Jon Womersley, seconded by Mark Breitfuss
Business arising from previous minutes (0 Mins)	There is no business arising from the previous minutes.	
President's Report (10 Mins)	Vicki Low gave the President's report. Vicki thanked our partners for the past twelve months which were CDM Smith, Minter Ellison and Origin Energy. She also thanked Golder for hosting the AGM and our regular meetings. Vicki outlined the key achievements for the Division for 2013/14. The Division again delivered an effective professional development program in tough economic times. We maintained a presence with government and ran the Renovating Matthew ball. Vicki outlined that we have increased our membership from 286 members in 2004 to 637 in 2014. We have had a very slight decrease of 6.5% in the past twelve months. After talking to members it was largely due to people being made redundant and having financial difficulties. The financial result for 2013/14 has shown a loss of approximately \$7k for the year. The current cash at bank is \$29 469.96. Vicki noted that we are audited as part of the national EIANZ. This financial year, Origin and CDM Smith have agreed to continue their sponsorship. It has been difficult to maintain high levels of income from the professional development activities. We have had a number of meetings throughout the year to readdress our budget. We have changed our focus from many large full day event and are having more breakfast and evening events. This reduces the cost and makes less impact on employers with both time and registration fees.	Moved by Jon Womersley, seconded by Hugh Lavery

TOPIC	ACTION	WHO/WHEN
	We get \$12 per member from the Central Office. The remaining funds stays with the Central Office to cover staff and administration.	
	Vicki thanked Scott Hanna for leading the Policy group for the past twelve months. By responding to submissions, we have maintained our ties with government. We have received recognition and thanks from Government for some of the submissions lodged.	
	Professional Development has been hard for 12 months in getting people to attend. Vicki thanked Rachel for her hard work as Chair. Vicki noted that we would rather run an event with a small intimate group than cancel an event. PD is a requirement for CEnvP and code of ethics.	
	Students and Early Careers was headed by Emma McIntosh. They have had a great year with keeping up their momentum with SECP activities and ties with the Universities.	
	Vicki commented the Division held a Soiree just over a year ago and from that we developed a strategic plan which we are following. This includes maintaining links with government, continuing to run Professional Development, engaging members and diversifying income.	
	Vicki thanked the organisations that have helped the Divison in the past twelve months who were, Minter Ellison, CDM Smith, Origin, Golder, Arup, ERM and Aurecon.	
Vote of thanks to 2013/14 Committee (3 Mins)	Vicki wanted to give special thanks to the committee for the last 12 months and for all their work and dedication. She thanked: Kylee Creighton, Rachel Boniwell, David Caberry, Mark Breitfuss, Brett McLennan, Scott Hanna, Rebecca Powlett, Alan Chenoweth and Danielle Bolton.	
Election of Committee Members (10 Mins)	There were no elections required as only one member had nominated for each position. The elected committee were: President: Vicki Low Vice President: Kylee Creighton SEQ Divisional Councillor: David Carberry Treasurer: Rebecca Powlett Professional Development Chair: Rachel Boniwell Student and Early Careers Pract's Chair: Sophie Cowie Practice and Policy Chair: Scott Hannah CEnvP Liaison: Alan Chenoweth General Committee: Mark Breitfuss, Sue Korecki and Brett McLennan	
General Business (5 Mins)	There was no general business raised.	
Meeting Close	The meeting was declared closed at 6.12pm	