

# EIANZ WA DIVISION DRAFT MINUTES - 2014 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

**Date:** Tuesday 9<sup>th</sup> September 2014 **Time:** 1730 hours

Venue: Gramercy Bar & Kitchen, Central Park, 11/777 Hay Street, Perth. WA. 6000.

Attendance: Apologies:

John Ottaway FEIANZ Alex Newton Steven Wilkie FEIANZ Kerry Laszig

Carel van der Westhuizen Vicki-Lee Morrison

Richard Morup James Gibson Russell Slaughter

Cory Fletcher Taryn Wren Michael Chessells Lucy Du Jambo Mtezo

Andrew Del Marco Nicole Zago Bernie Reigler Marianne

ITEM	
1. Formal meeting opened at 17.50 pm.	
Quorum confirmed as at least 15 members were present.	
2. Acceptance of 2013 AGM Minutes	

John Ottaway moved to accept the 2013 AGM Minutes. Seconded by Andrew Del Marco. Carried unopposed.

## 3. President's Report

President's report attached. Vicki-Lee Morrison moved to accept the report. Seconded by Russell Slaughter. Carried unopposed.

## 4. Treasurer's Report

**BoQ Websaver Account:** 

Treasurer's report was unable to be tabled due to unexpected technology error. Instead, the WA Division account balances were presented by logging into the Bank of Queensland internet site. Bank account balances were witnessed on-screen by all AGM attendees, as follows:

BoQ Everyday Banking Account: \$3678.51

Treasurer committed to sending his report to Secretary so that it can be emailed to all AGM attendees for review and acceptance. Treasurer advised the audit of WA Division accounts is conducted by the EIANZ Head Office. Secretary to request EIANZ Head Office provide Statement of Audit for 2013-14 and then distribute this to all AGM attendees.

\$7475.55

Page 1 of 2

## 5. Election of 2014-2015 WA Division Committee

- A) John Ottaway FEIANZ unanimously appointed as returning officer. All 2013-14 WA Division Committee positions declared vacant.
- B) 2014-2015 WA Division Committee Nominations:

#### Executive

- o President Carel van der Westhuizen, elected unopposed
- Vice President Richard Morup, elected unopposed
- o Treasurer James Gibson, elected unopposed
- Secretary Taryn Wren, elected unopposed

## **Ordinary Members**

- o Russell Slaughter, elected unopposed
- Cory Fletcher, elected unopposed
- o Lucy Du, elected unopposed
- o Andrew Del Marco, elected unopposed
- Nicole Zago, elected unopposed
- Bernie Reigler, elected unopposed

First meeting of the 2014-15 Committee to be convened before 1 October 2014.

C) 2014-2015 WA National Councillor

Attendees were advised that a Special General Meeting of the Institute has been called for 17 September 2014 to consider and vote on proposed new Rules of Association.

The proposed new rules will replace separately elected Chapter Divisional Councillors with an Advisory Council comprising the Presidents of the Australian Chapter Divisions and the New Zealand Chapter, and the Chairpersons of the Special Interest Sections.

It was proposed and unanimously agreed that the WA Division President would represent the WA Chapter Division as WA National Councillor for 2014-2015, or until such time as the Rules of Association were amended and the WA National Councillor position was made redundant.

### 6. Informal Business

- A) Vicki-Lee Morrison moved that the significant contributions to the EIANZ WA Division of Western Environmental and Pendragon Environmental be recognised, noting that the membership of the WA Division benefit from significant administrative and operational support from these organisations. Seconded by Richard Morup. Carried unopposed.
- B) Steven Wilkie asked whether WA was able to offer CENVP specialist certification for Impact Assessment, Ecology, etc. Carel van der Westhuizen advised specialist certifications are not presently offered in Western Australia because there are not yet enough local people with the specialist certification to form an assessment panel.
- C) John Ottaway asked the cost of the 2014 Winter Seminar Series, which were free to attend for all environmental practitioners (members and non-members). Richard Morup advised approximately \$750 for each of the three seminars and stated that some sponsorship may be needed for the 2015 series to reduce the cost to members.
- D) John Ottaway commended the 2013-14 Committee and all members on the success of the 2014 Winter Seminar Series, stating that \$750 per event represented excellent value as the events not only raised the profile of EIANZ, but brought environmental practitioners together to discuss topical issues, so contributed to the development of the profession and thereby delivered outcomes that meet objectives of the Institute and its members.

## Formal meeting closed at 6.30 pm

Enclosed: President's Report & Treasurer's Report